COLEMAN A. YOUNG FOUNDATION 2024 Fred Martin DETROIT EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR AWARD APPLICATION



Investing in the leaders of tomorrow...today

Honoring Detroit's Educators CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

"Those of us who are passing off the scene, like Nelson Mandela, like me, like Martin, we are passing on to you who are coming on the scene, the torch. You should be thrilled with the opportunity that you have to complete the revolution." - Detroit Mayor Coleman A. Young

The Coleman A. Young Foundation (CAYF) was established in 1982 as a 501 (c) (3) charitable organization. Our mission is to develop leadership among Detroit's youth through college scholarships, mentoring, development, parent outreach and other supports for personal growth and development. The year 2024 marks our 42nd year awarding scholarships to Detroit's graduating high school seniors.

The recipient of this year's Fred Martin Detroit Educator of the Year Award (DEYA) will be announced and honored in Spring 2024. The 2024 scholarship recipients will also be revealed.

Please visit our website at <u>www.cayf.org</u> for more information.

Acceptance and participation in our scholarship program is the same for everyone without regard to religion, race, color, national origin, age, sex, disability or sexual preference.

2024 Fred Martin DETROIT EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR OFFICIAL NOMINATION FORMS

The year 2024 marks the eighteenth awarding of the Fred Martin Detroit Educator of the Year, and Coleman A. Young Foundation (CAYF) now invites nominations. Nominees must work in the Detroit community, and must exemplify the leadership characteristics and spirit of late Detroit Mayor Coleman Alexander Young.

We invite you and/or your organization to nominate individuals to be considered for the **Fred Martin Detroit Educator of the Year Award**. The ideal candidate is a teacher, counselor or administrator, from an elementary, middle or high school, in the city of Detroit. This individual brings out the best in youth, goes above and beyond to inspire students to achieve their potential. This person helps students overcome obstacles, and challenges them to reach their goals.

Nominations must be received at CAYF by Friday, March 15, 2024

PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION ON THE NOMINATOR				
Nominator Name:				
Relationship to Nominee:				
Nominator Address:				
City:	State:	Zip Code:		
Telephone Number: (work)		(home)		
Email:	Mobile/Other Phone #:			
Signature:		Date:		

Thank you for your nomination, and for helping us recognize the important contributions these individuals make to our community.

2024 Fred Martin DETROIT EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR

PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION ON THE NOMINEE

School Name:				
Nominee Position/Title:				
School Address:				
City:	State:	Zip Code:		
Email:	M	Mobile/Other phone #:		
Telephone Number: (work)		(home)		

GENDER			Please provide the
□Male	□ Female	□ Other	following information on the Nominee:

Personal Background:

Submit resume or curriculum vitae that includes education, employment and volunteer history, and community service.

Student achievement:

How did students' achievements increase as a result of this person's involvement? Please show and/or specify measurable outcomes, such as classroom grades and test scores for students and other areas of academic improvement that can be attributed to the nominee.

Personal Statement:

Explain what specific factors make this person worthy of consideration.

Letters of Support:

Provide two or more references in support of the nomination of this candidate.

Nominations must be received in the CAYF office by Friday, March 15, 2024.

Mail completed forms and supporting documentation to:

Coleman A. Young Foundation 8425 W. McNichols Madame Cadillac Building #248 Detroit, Michigan 48221

DETROIT EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR AWARDEES

Year	Educator	School
2006	Tony Hawk, M.A.	Mathematics Teacher, Denby Technical Preparatory
		High School
2007	Terry L. Truvillion, Ph.D.	Principal, Henry Ford High School
2008	Shirley A. Hightower, M.A.	Principal, Chadsey High School
2009	Theresa Annita Sawyer-Love, M.A.	English Teacher, Northwestern High School
2009	Sivena L. Taylor, M.A	Mathematics Teacher, Sampson-Webber Leadership Academy
2010	Steven McGhee, M.A.	Principal, Central Preparatory High School
2011	James Hearn, M.A.	Principal, Marcus Garvey Academy
2012	Karen R. Treadway-Harvel, Ph.D.	Principal, Renaissance High School
2013	Jeffery Robinson, Ph.D.	Principal, Paul Robeson/Malcolm X Academy
2015	Melissa Scott	Principal, Coleman A. Young Elementary
2016	Deborah K. Jenkins, Ed.D	Principal, Martin Luther King, Jr. Senior High School
2017	Michelle M. Davis	Reading Integration Specialist, Davis Aerospace Technical High School
2018	Michelle A. Shorter, M.Ed.	Social Studies Educator, Cody Medicine and Community Health Academy
2019	Brandy Walker	Foreign Language Immersion Cultural Studies School (F.L.I.C.S.)
2020	Quan Neloms	School Counselor, Bow K-8 School
2021	Lisa Phillips	Principal, Cass Technical High School
2021	Tonya R. Norwood, Ph.D.	Principal, Noble Elementary-Middle School
2021	John Johnson	College Coordinator, University Prep Art & Design
		Academy
2022	Shannan L. Hibbard, Ph.D.	Music Educator, Edmonson Elementary
2023	Kimberly Morrison	Certified Teacher, Edmonson Elementary